LIFE: Ode to a Woman of Substance

Maya Angelou

I am extremely saddened by the loss of this literary powerhouse, I just had to make a post to express my condolences to her family, friends and fans like myself, but before I do, allow me apologize deeply for having neglected my blogging duties to my followers and readers, It’s been a while.

Earlier this morning, I awoke to the news of Maya’s passing, though her life in my opinion has been a celebration of love, peace, and courage; death will always be a loss whether old or young, so I will celebrate her life the only way I know how, by getting off my blogging hiatus, dedicating this post to her, and always remembering her words and the way they make and has made me feel – Self love is the best type of love there is, was and there ever will be.

I remember the first time I heard Maya’s words, it was in a scene in the movie “Poetic Justice”, where Janet Jackson narrated a poem entitled “Phenomenal Woman” by Maya Angelou. The words literally took my breath away, spoke to me on a personal level and has since then kept my breath hostage, because I cannot begin to fathom the interest I grew for this goddess of an author and her work. Her lyrical brainpower, elegance, grace, wisdom, and beauty will forever be part and parcel of my being, even though I am still a work in progress, I believe I am on the right path and hey Rome wasn’t built in a day right?

It has been  a pleasure to have known this woman through her work and thanks to the internet and her publications she will always be a part of my life through her words – and hopefully one day I will share those exact words with my Sons and Daughters, as I believe every parent should at some point in the lives of their Children.

RIP Maya, You’ll be missed.

Try to be a rainbow in someone else’s cloud 

– Maya Angelou 

One thought on “LIFE: Ode to a Woman of Substance

  1. Incidentally we are all work in the making till the very last call. What she left behind can not be erased. Even if we ever forget anything about her! We can not forget how she made us feel. A great legacy that’s able to touch us who knew her at the point of exit. Thank you so much for following.

Leave a Reply

